There are numerous information governance certifications you can get to advance your career. Depending on the professional value of each certification, how long it takes to complete it, the cost and the level of difficulty, some certifications might be more necessary for you than others. After learning more about your options, including the popular certifications below, you can be a better judge of what will suit your needs and professional goals.

IG Professional – ARMA

ARMA International offers one of the newest certifications for IG professionals: the Information Governance Professional certification, or IGP. This certification carries a lot of clout with prospective employers because it comes from a recognized leader in the information governance industry. ARMA is known to offer its professional certifications separately from any products and services, with an autonomous governing board to make decisions and maintain best practices. It is recommended for archivists, compliance officers, information consultants, IT professionals, legal staff and records managers interested in better managing information assets, reducing legal and storage costs, saving time and money and complying with all relevant regulations.

Certified Records Manager – ICRM

The Institute of Certified Records Managers (ICRM) offers credentialing for Certified Records Managers that covers the fundamental competencies, skills and everything else one needs to be successful in this field. The CRM credentialing program provides insights into the leading and most cutting-edge recordkeeping technologies, records management principles and every step of the recordkeeping process, from creating records to managing records to controlling and storing records to eventually disposing of records. The program requires students to write two business case studies that show their knowledge of the subject matter and pass a credentialing exam. As an international certifying body with 37 years in the industry, ICRM is known as a leader in the Records and Information Management field, so this certification does have good value.

Certified eDiscovery Specialist – ACEDS

The Certified eDiscovery Specialist certification, or CEDS, is a credentialing program administered by the Association of Certified eDiscovery Specialists (ACEDS). IT professionals who have completed the certification process, met all requirements and passed the examination are able to maneuver through the job market with proof of their skills in a field that is associated with high costs and high risks. Employers are glad to see applicants with a certification that verifies their level of skills and knowledge in the eDiscovery field. Certificate candidates must prove that they are eligible, and then pass a challenging exam at one of the many approved international testing centers. Although the exam is rigorous, candidates have all they need to succeed with the CEDS Exam Preparation Manual, which many eDiscovery specialists continue referring to throughout their professional lives.

Certified Information Privacy Professional – IAPP

The International Association of Privacy Professionals’ Certified Information Privacy Professional (CIPP) certification program was introduced in 2004 and has become a popular measurement of one’s skill and knowledge in the field of information privacy. As the first certification of its type, it still holds a great deal of weight with employers in this field. Certification candidates must have a strong knowledge of United States regulations and laws pertaining to information privacy when sensitive data is being transferred from one digital source to another, whether to elsewhere in the U.S. or anywhere in the world. The program requires candidates to learn about the U.S. legal system, federal laws pertaining to personal data, marketing regulations, state laws such as state data breach notifications and workplace privacy regulations, culminating in the CIPP/US and Certification Foundation exams. It is recommended for all CPOs and other senior information governance professionals, compliance support staff, corporate privacy managers, IT governance professionals, information auditing professionals, information security professionals, legal compliance officers and risk managers.

Certified Information Professional – AIIM

The Association for Information and Image Management’s Certified Information Professional program is touted as a strategic choice for a successful career path in the information industry. Successful certification candidates are able to demonstrate their skills in integrating business and IT concerns, their ability to lead the way in mobile and social media while adding value for clients and fellow employees and their dedication to staying on the cutting edge of information management. The program was designed to adhere to ISO Standard 17024, so candidates are required to demonstrate specific knowledge of these six domains:

  • Access/Use
  • Architecture/Systems
  • Capture/Manage
  • Collaborate/Deliver
  • Secure/Preserve
  • Plan/Implement

ECM Practitioner – AIIM

The Association for Information and Image Management (AIIM) offers a variety of professional certification programs, including the ECM (Enterprise Content Management) Practitioner program. Certification candidates must demonstrate their knowledge of technologies and best practices in cloud computing, mobile media, social media and other relevant subjects that are taught in the course. By completing this course of education, information professionals are able to offer verifiable proof that they are capable of managing content in all these different environments, creating and optimizing this content, seamlessly sharing content for a variety of purposes, developing a project plan and business case and integrating things like taxonomies, security and metadata models into the content management process.